healthy living banner
The mission of the Well U is to improve the quality of life of UA employees/alumni/students/retirees and their families by providing

  • A culture that fosters a healthy work environment, personal and professional growth, positive lifestyles, attitudes and values.
  • Convenient, high quality on-site opportunities for skill development and appropriate referral to off campus resources for participants to develop and sustain a healthy, productive and balanced life.
  • A research, teaching and evaluation process for understanding and improving the organizational, departmental, and individual health of the University.
To develop, implement, and sustain a Well University Model through the implementation of the following:
  1. To create a collaboration between Well U partners to develop and promote programs that would address:
    1. The need to decrease obesity, heart disease, diabetes, other chronic diseases, and attain other federal and state Healthy People 2020 goals, in the UA community.
    2. Provide healthy lifestyle choices for health promotion and disease prevention for employees, students, alumni and retirees.
    3. Expansion of programs within departments and colleges to reduce stress and promote a healthier environment in the workplace.
    4. Innovative teaching and learning opportunities that promote healthy lifestyles.
    5. Research and metrics opportunities that would direct the UA community towards effectively addressing nutrition, fitness, and resiliency issues.
    6. The costs of healthcare to the UA workforce. Investigating the cost saving potentials of expanded wellness programs in terms of both the short and long-term savings associated with having a healthier constituency.
  2. Through this partnership, to develop a University of Excellence in all areas: academic, research, student services, media, and the over-all health of its individuals.
  3. To establish a jointly coordinated on-campus facility to offer integrated programs and services of the Well U partnership to model wellness in the geographical, emotional and historical heart of our campus.
2015 Well University Partnership, Leadership Team

Co-Chairs:

Harry M. McDermott
Executive Director
Campus Health Services
mcdermot@email.arizona.edu
520-621-6489
David Salafsky
Director
Health Promotion
Preventive Services
Campus Health Service
salafsky@email.arizona.edu
520-621-8297

Members:

Alaina Martinez
Student Health Advocacy Committee (SHAC)
alainamartinez@email.arizona.edu
Andrew Aslaksen
Associate Director
Residential Education
aslaksen@email.arizona.edu
520-621-6300
Ben Champion
Director
Office of Sustainability
bchampion@email.arizona.edu
520-621-8620
Carrie Merkle
Associate Professor
College of Nursing
cmerkle@email.arizona.edu
520-626-6163
Christine Carlson
Assistant Director
Dietitian
Arizona Student Unions
Staff Advisory Council (SAC)
christinecarlson@email.arizona.edu
520-621-5736
Cynthia Thomson
Director
Canyon Ranch Center for Prevention
Health Promotion
cthomson@email.arizona.edu
520-626-1565
Gale Welter Coleman
Nutrition Coordinator
Campus Health Service
welter@email.arizona.edu
520-621-4550

Ginny Stasinski
Coordinator
UA Life & Work Connections
Arizona Emergency Medicine Research Center
Appointed Professional Advisory Committee (APAC)
GStasinski@aemrc.arizona.edu
520-621-4601
Jodi Charvoz
Nutrition/Fitness Counselor
UA Life & Work Connections
jcharvoz@email.arizona.edu
520-626-5760
Kay Hongu
Department of Nutritional Sciences
UA Cooperative Extension
hongu@email.arizona.edu
520-626-2085
Lynn Zwaagstra
Director
Campus Recreation Center
lynnz@email.arizona.edu
520-621-8707
Michael Omo
Senior Executive Chef
Arizona Student Unions
michaelomo@email.arizona.edu
520-621-7038
Nancy Rogers
Coordinator
Employee Wellness
Health Promotion
UA Life & Work Connections
rogersn@email.arizona.edu
520-621-4601
Natalie O’Farrell
Associate Director of Programs
Campus Recreation Center
nfreeland@email.arizona.edu
520-626-4902
Nicole Bergier
Coordinator
Prevention Research
Health Promotion Sciences
nbergier@email.arizona.edu
520-626-5470
Sarah Marrs
Nutrition counselor
Campus Health Services
srokuski@email.arizona.edu
520-626-6265
Diana Moreno
Accountant
Parking & Transportation
dianam11@email.arizona.edu
520-621-6912

David Salafsky
Director, Health Promotion Preventative Services, Campus Health/Wellness
520-621-8297
salafsky@health.arizona.edu